Leica X Vario City Challenge

Experience the Leica X Vario in this creative challenge for 120 participants in 4 cities. The Leica X Vario City Challenge is a coast to coast Leica Camera photo competition with a twist! Leica fans in four cities— New York, Washington DC, Los Angeles and Miami—can compete for the chance to win a Leica X Vario among many other valuable prizes. 30 lucky participants in each city will be invited to shoot with a Leica X Vario during the City Challenge. Sign up quickly, be creative, select your favorite image, and submit it to the competition.

ROUND 1: CITY PHOTO EXCURSIONS

To sign up, email rsvp@leicacamerausa.com and specify the city you would like to compete in and represent. Spots are granted on a first come, first serve basis; limit of 30 photographers. During the photo excursion, you'll have the opportunity to experience the Leica X Vario and capture a photo to submit for the city judging. You'll have until 11:59 PM on the Sunday following the challenge to submit your entry.

ROUND 2: PUBLIC VOTING

After each city challenge, all submissions to the X Vario City Challenge will posted as an album to the local Leica Store's page on Facebook. The image with the most votes over the course of one week will win the city challenge and advance to the final round.

Voting will take place on the respective city’s Leica Store pages on Facebook:

PRIZES

  • City Finalists:
    • Advance to final round (one per city)
  • City Runner-Ups:
    • 1st runner up: 99 Year Book (one per city)
    • 2nd runner up: Leica Myself Book (one per city)

ROUND 3: FINAL JUDGING

Each city winner will be judged by a panel of 5 acclaimed judges who will choose the overall X Vario City Challenge winner.

PRIZES

  • Grand Prize:
    • Leica X Vario
    • Private reception at the city Leica Store
    • Digital Photo Exhibit at the city Leica Store
    • Special Series on The Leica Camera Blog using the X Vario in 2014
  • Second Prize:  Leica X2
  • Third Prize:     Leica D-Lux 6
  • Fourth Prize:  Leica C

TIMELINE

The timetable will be as follows:

City 1 – New York City

  • EVENT: PhotoPlus Expo Oct. 24 – 26
  • CHALLENGE DAY: Friday, Oct. 25, 12 PM EST – 4 PM EST
  • SUBMISSION PERIOD: Friday, Oct. 25 4:01 PM – Sunday, Oct. 27, 11:59 PM EST
  • VOTING PERIOD: Monday, October 28, 12 PM EST – Sunday, November 3 , 11:59 PM EST
  • CITY WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Wednesday, November 6

City 2 – Washington DC

  • EVENT: FotoWeek DC Nov. 1-10
  • CHALLENGE DAY: Friday, Nov. 8, 12 PM EST – 4 PM EST
  • SUBMISSION PERIOD: Friday, Nov. 8, 4:01 PM EST – Sunday, Nov. 10, 11:59 PM EST
  • VOTING PERIOD: Monday, November 11, 12 PM EST – Sunday, November 17, 11:59 PM EST
  • CITY WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Wednesday, November 20

City 3 - Los Angeles

  • CHALLENGE DAY: Friday, Nov. 15, 12 PM PT– 4 PM PT
  • SUBMISSION PERIOD: Friday, Nov. 15, 4:01 PM PT – Sunday, Nov. 17, 11:59 PM PT
  • VOTING PERIOD: Monday, November 18, 12 PM PT – Sunday, November 24, 11:59 PM PT
  • CITY WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Wednesday, November 27

City 4 – Miami

  • EVENT: Art Basel Dec 1-8
  • CHALLENGE DAY: Friday, Dec. 6, 12 PM EST – 4 PM EST
  • SUBMISSION PERIOD: Friday, Dec. 6, 4:01 PM EST – Sunday, Dec. 8, 11:59 PM PT
  • VOTING PERIOD: Monday, December 9, 12 PM EST – Sunday, December 15, 11:59 PM EST
  • CITY WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Tuesday, December 17

Finalists Judging and winner announcement

  • JUDGING PERIOD: Wednesday, December 18
  • GRAND PRIZE WINNER ANNOUNCED: Thursday, December 19

Click here for the official rules for the X Vario City Challenge