Parr and Badger: The Photobook: A History, Volume I

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Parr and Badger: The Photobook: A History, Volume I
Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:20 pm 

Attachment:
IMG_0859.jpg
I love photobooks. I'm not an indiscriminate collector; rather, I collect works that appeal to my particular interests: photojournalism, reportage, portraiture and great images of people and the places they inhabit. My collecting seems to follow two paths. One is browsing brick-and-mortar new and used bookstores (sadly, a disappearing business) with open mind and eyes, "trolling" for anything that looks interesting. The other is noting an item of interest in a bibliography or footnote, and going in search of that specific item. I've been doing this for about 45 years. My photobook collection fills about 9 or 10 feet of shelf space, so that gives you an idea of the discrimination with which I add titles.

When I became aware of The Photobook: A History, a three-volume series by Martin Parr and Gerry Badger, I hesitated a long time before adding it to my collection. At $85 dollars per volume (more or less, depending on the seller), it would displace at least three monographs that are on my "to acquire" list. Several quick browses through Volume I revealed the grab-bag nature of these books: the 200 photobooks selected for inclusion in Volume I are "what [the authors] believe to be the most artistically and culturally important photobooks in the history of the medium." At first, I doubted the wisdom of adding to my library photobooks which were chosen based on someone else's judgment. I could tell at once that some of the photobooks excerpted in Volume I are not ones I would necessarily want in my own library. The number of photobook titles is very great, and the rationale used to select only 200 of them is a key factor in whether this compilation would appeal to me or to anyone else.