Werner Bischof Backstory

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Werner Bischof Backstory
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 6:54 pm 

I've been a fan of Magnum Photo for almost as long as I have been a photographer. What ignited my interest in a particular photo agency in my late teens? I'm not quite sure, although the fascinating photographs by Henri Cartier-Bresson certainly attracted me. I was always interested in history, and the Magnum Photo credit line always seemed to be associated with imagery of recent history and current history-in-the-making. As I became more involved in photography, I acquired more photographer's monographs, and a good portion of my library was the work of Magnum photographers.

As I matured, I started to think about the meaning and influence of photography, concerns which occupied Magnum's founders in the aftermath of World War II. I was - and remain - intrigued by their ideas: that a cooperative of photographers should retain ownership of their work, should be independent of media control and should be free to carry out long-term projects and to explore their subjects more deeply than might otherwise be possible.

One Magnum member I had read about was Werner Bischof. A Swiss photographer and artist whose early photo-reportage was published in Du, Match, and other post-war European illustrated magazines, Bischof was invited to join Magnum in 1948 and remained with them until his death in an auto accident in Peru in 1954. Although Bischof published several books of photographs during his life, and his work could be found in anthologies of Magnum's collective work, I could not truly say I was familiar with his work until now.